IAS EXAM 2012: Preliminary Exam (CSAT) Syllabus

I-Paper: 200 marks, Duration: Two hours

1.Current events of national and international importance
2.History of India and Indian National Movement
3.Indian and World Geography – Physical, Social, Economic geography of India and the World.
4.Indian Polity and Governance – Constitution, Political System, Panchayati Raj, Public Policy, Rights Issues, etc.
5.Economic and Social Development – Sustainable Development, Poverty,      Inclusion, Demographics, Social Sector Initiatives,  etc.
6.General issues on Environmental ecology, Bio-diversity and Climate Change – that do not require subject specializationGeneral Science.

II-Paper: 200 marks, Duration: Two hours

2.Interpersonal skills including communication skills;
3.Logical reasoning and analytical ability
4.Decision making and problem solving
5.General mental ability
6.Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts,   graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc. -Class X level)
7.English Language Comprehension skills (Class X level).
8.Questions relating to English Language Comprehension skills of Class X  level (last item in the Syllabus of Paper-II) will be tested through passages from English language only without providing Hindi translation thereof in the   question paper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *